USA Womens Soccer Run for the Balloon d’Or

The list is now down to the top three finalists. The FIFA Ballon d’Or, the golden ball, 2012 Women’s top three finalists are in and they are Marta from Brazil, Alex Morgan from the USA, and Abby Wambach from the USA. This is a major step for the USA women’s team they have come a long ways from their start. This is a major that two USA women have made to cut for the FIFA Ballon d’Or.

Alex Morgan (left) and Abby Wambach (right). Photo courtesy of

Alex Morgan (left) and Abby Wambach (right). Photo courtesy of

On October 25 a ten-player list was released for the FIFA Women’s Ballon d’Or, which was decided by  FIFA’s Committee for Women’s Football and the FIFA Women’s World Cup and a group from France Football. On November 29 the list was shortened down to three finalists. The final winner for the award will be revealed at the FIFA Ballon d’Or gala on a televised show at the Zurich Kongresshaus on January 7. Journalists, national coaches or captains will pick the finalist.  The Women still have a month to wait before they know who came out on top.

Abby Wambach. Photo Courtesy of USA today.

Abby Wambach. Photo Courtesy of USA today.

Abby Wambach is that powerful American striker that puts fear in the opponents’ heads, especially this year at the Women Olympic Football Tournament. She scored five goals at the tournament this year with the help of her other teammates. Defenses know what is coming when they see her. Even know you can clearly see how developed she has truly become and it’s not a surprise she is a finalist for this year.

Alex Morgan is actually quite new to the equation this year. Alex wasn’t even known of until the USA whipped her out as their special weapon at the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2011. Since then she has been a first-choice striker. This year she contributed to the 2012 Olympics with three goals and five assists, her first two goals were in a 4-2 win over France. Her only other goal was in their semi-final win over Canada 4-3. By contributing so much to the London games it helped her earn the title Sportswoman of the Year. She is a Champion of the U-20 in 2008.

Alex Morgan. Photo Courtesy from

Alex Morgan. Photo Courtesy from

It appears that both of our American players are definitely contenders for this award and there is no chance they don’t belong there. The women have both worked hard to get where they are at and deserve this award. Who do you want to win this year?


Posted on December 10, 2012, in Sports, Top Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: